Train To Edinburgh!

We boarded the train to Edinburgh at Kings Cross Station in London. We got the chance to see Platform Nine and Three Quarters from the movie Harry Potter. Although I don’t consider myself as a Potter fan, I was super excited to see it. Platform 9 & 3 quarters When we got on the train, I was delighted to see that it had super comfortable chairs, unlike other trains I’ve been on, and sockets to charge our electronic devices. The scenery on the way to Edinburgh was beautiful! There was lots of countryside and hills with random houses tuck away inside them. There was also a lot of rivers and different bodies of water.

River Tweed

River Tweed

I got a feeling that Edinburgh was going to be a lot different than London. London was city-like and very fast paced. Based on the the sites out of the window of train, I thought that Edinburgh was going to more like what I have seen on television about Scotland-natural landmarks, free-roaming animals, and castles. On the way, I took a random picture, not even sure of where I was located. Luckily I have an iPhone which tells me the location of every picture I take. The picture description said that we were in Berwick-upon-Tweed.

Berwick-Upon-Tweed

Berwick-Upon-Tweed

After doing a little research, I found out that Berwick-upon-Tweed is the northernmost town of England. It is located in the area that many battles between Scotland and England took place over the possession of the border. The town is a traditional marketplace with medieval style architecture. The picture does not do the actual view of the town justice. It was breathtaking! After arriving at the train station in Edinburgh, I began to regret my packing decisions even more. Edinburgh is filled with super steep walkways, one in which we had to walk up to get to our hostel. Luckily, I was roommates with a girl who hurt her knee and a pregnant woman, so we all pitched in a got a cab.

Edinburgh-The Canongate

Edinburgh-The Canongate

Leave a Reply

