Free Day: (will add pictures later when the wifi cooperates)

Free Day:

 

I chose to spend my free day with the group as we attempted the hike to the top of Arthur’s Seat. 823 feet later, the panoramic views of Edinburgh were magnificent with the water and surrounding areas. According to Wikipedia, the hill was named after King Arthur although it is unsure as to why. However, many other hills have been name similar things.

Geology:

Arthur’s Seat is actually an extinct volcano. The rock is dated back to the Carboniferous Age which is roughly 350 million years ago. The rock was then eroded away by a glacier later on in time.

History:

1836 – James Hutton studied rock formations on Arthur’s Seat for many years. It was here that he discovered that the deposition of sedimentary rock and the formation of igneous rocks were different ages and were made in different ways than what previous people had thought.

1836 – It is said that when a couple of boys were hunting, they came across 16 coffins in a cave on Arthur’s Seat containing wooden figures. The purpose for these coffins has never been pinpointed however, one theory suggests that the deaths are related to the murders by Burke and Hare dating back to 1828.

1840 – Arthur’s Seat hosted the dedication of Scotland to preach the gospel throughout the country.

After the hike, the group had lunch at the oldest pub in Scotland. The coolest part for me was seeing the bowling alley that was over 200 years old! It was pretty cheap to rent out for a party too so if I was to ever come back to Scotland that is what I would do with friends.

Then I ventured out alone and went to the Royal Mile Market. It is the cutest place I have ever been. Local vendors sell handmade items and food. I went back there today to buy more of the handmade chocolate I had bought earlier this week. It was so good that I had to get more to share with my family and friends. These chocolates have also won awards for best chocolate in Scotland. Okay… can you tell I love chocolate yet? Other vendors sell cheap cashmere scarves and handmade jewelry and clothing.

After that, I went shopping in New Town. I went to Urban Outfitters and H&M first because I was curious of the comparison between Scotland’s version and those back home. The prices and styles seemed to compare to those at home. I also wandered around Primark, which is the UK’s version of Forever 21. For those of you who know me, the walls of scarves fed my addiction, but I only bought one surprisingly! The clothes here were ridiculously cheap however, looked cheap as well.

I finished the night off on the terrace at the bar in our hostile, working on homework and chatting about everyone’s adventures for the day.

Leave a Reply

