The Climb

Today I woke up at around 6:30 a.m. which was fairly early given today was a free day. I waited until about 7:15 a.m. then I took a shower and got dressed for the day. After getting dressed I went down to the bar for breakfast around 8 a.m. then I went back up to my room. When I got in my room I slept until 10 a.m. . I hopped out of bed after my nap and rushed down stairs to meet with other students outside.

We met up then we all headed towards Arthur’s Seat. Arthur’s Seat is the main peek of a group of hills in Scotland, it is the highest point of Holyrood Park as well as a dormant volcano. The climb up Arthur’s seat is basically a composition of three different milestones. The first part of the climb was a gradual incline which is known as a Craig, the roads were fairly wide and not steep at all.  personally felt the first section was the easiest although when I finished the first section I took about a ten to fifteen minute rest with the group.

11227923_1028629483816613_3702865253483475044_nimage

The second section was a set of uneven stone steps that winded up the side of this massive hill made of volcanic rock. The second part was the most difficult for me compared to the first and the last section. I took multiple rest on the way up because this was the steepest part of the volcano in which I could feel gravity working against me. I finally made through the second section of Arthur’s Seat I and all I could see was beautiful green pastures and a mount of volcanic rock sitting upon the pastures.

1395271_1028629380483290_8782886245411115211_n

“Quick pic before the final section”

The first two sections I had walked up although unlike the last two parts I had to literally climb the third section. It wasn’t difficult because I had already made through the hardest part and the end was in site, I took a 5 to 10 minute rest then I went for it. Finally making it up to the actual peek I had a panoramic view of the entire city. They view was breathe taking or maybe that was the climb. The climb was awfully tiring and took about in a hour if not longer. Although making it to the top was a good enough reward in itself allowing me to have a beautiful view of the whole city of Edinburgh,Scotland. All in all each section of Arthur’s seat presented its own obstacle yet the satisfaction of overcoming each obstacle made the whole experience worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

