Free Day: The Hike to the Top

The Background Information:

Arthurs Seat sits on a dormant volcano, and sits 251m above sea level. The hill dates to over 2,000 years ago. Once you reach the top, one is able to view Edinburgh from spectacular heights.

The Sheep Heid Inn is Edinburgh’s oldest pub. It was founded in the 14th century in 1360.

The Experience:

My first thought when I saw Arthurs Seat up close, was okay this doesn’t look too steep. Then when I was standing at the bottom starting to walk up, my views quickly shifted. The climb was an uphill battle, till we finally reached flat ground. The only problem was when I looked up, I realized I was only half way there. Taking a break to catch my breath I continued on the hike up. The hills seemed to come in three. The second hill wasn’t as bad but it was still pretty steep. The second hill took you to a flat area that gave you a good view of Arthurs Seat. This meant there was only one hill left. The last hill was steep, rocky and breathe taking… LITERALLY!!! The view though was well worth the leg pain.

This is a picture of Rachael and I on top of Arthurs Seat.

This is a picture of Rachael and I on top of Arthurs Seat.

After the hike, we ate at Sheep Heid Inn. I ordered the Hand-battered Halloumi thinking it was fish but then realizing it was cheese. It was pretty good but the part I was most excited for was the dessert because let’s be honest who doesn’t like dessert the best. I ordered the Damson plum and apple shortbread crumble with custard. All I can say is my mouth salivated a little when I saw it. For those who like creamy custard and fruity crumbles I would highly recommend trying this if you ever find yourself in Edinburgh looking for something sweet.

Damson plum and apple shortbread crumble with custard.

Damson plum and apple shortbread crumble with custard.

I ended the day with a nap and dinner at the Bar 50 right under our hostel.

Leave a Reply

