Stonehenge

stongehenge

photo credit: grayline.com

Stonehenge has fascinated me for as long as I can remember because it is surrounded by mystery and intrigue.  Perhaps it is my background in archeology and anthropology which has fueled the fire of my interest.  It is still unknown why Stonehenge was created and what purposes it has served.  Stonehenge could have been a temple for sun worship or a healing place.  It certainly could have served as a burial site, as there are burial mounds nearby, or perhaps a huge calendar.  The unique stone circle with its mammoth sarsens and smaller bluestones was erected in the late Neolithic period around 2500 BC. Archeologists do not know how our ancestors managed to carry the colossal stones from so far away and then, using only the most simple of tools, built this amazing structure. Visiting this one of kind ancient place has been a dream of mine, which I would like to fulfill this summer during my study abroad experience. This legendary prehistoric monument is located in Wiltshire, England, about 2 miles (3 km) west of Amesbury and 8 miles (13 km) north of Salisbury.  The bus ride to the location is just under two hours and costs around $75 American dollars and admission tickets to see the great stone circle are around $25 dollars. This also includes access to a Neolithic village, visitor center, shop, ancient landscape exhibit, and an on-site café.  So if you are interested, please feel free to join!

8 thoughts on “Stonehenge

  1. This is definitely what I plan on using one of our entire free days to do so if you want, we should plan to go together!

  2. Do you mean June 15th? I think that is our first free day in London. 🙂 I am interested in doing this as well, however I will just have to see if I would have enough money in my budget for it. Myrna and I were wanting to go to West Bay/Bridport which is on the southern coast of England (The Jurassic Coast) on one of the free days. I wrote about it in my post on here. And I know that she also wants to see Stonehenge, so maybe we could do Stonehenge on the first free day with you guys and then go to West Bay on the second free day on the 18th. You guys are free to join us! Tickets for the train to get there is around $40-50.

    • Yes, the 15th haha my bad! I would be very interested in going there with you guys as well so that’d be perfect!

      • Awesome! 🙂 Myrna and I are going to talk about it more tomorrow in class and possibly buy the train tickets to go to West Bay online. We can all discuss Stonehenge as well! And then on our free evenings I plan on going to the London Eye and possibly go on the bike tour that Myrna was talking about doing! I am SO EXCITED. This trip will be amazing! I am trying to see with Prof. Kahan and Prof. Takanashi if we can set up a Facebook page for our trip so we can share ideas and stuff there as well.

  3. I am so glad you guys want to go to! I thought we could converse about Stonehenge in class, however, I won’t be there till the second half of class because of my job. So please lets dialogue after class too guys! I know Amanda wants to go as well, that deal you found sounds amazing girl. I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

